top of page

CRYPTA - The Brazilian/Dutch Death Metal will Release the 3rd Single, “Dark Night Of The Soul”

Debut Album, "Echoes Of The Soul", went out on June 11th!

Crypta photo credit Estevam Romera mgmeia
(photo credit; Estevam Romera)

Brazilian / Dutch death metal powerhouse CRYPTA is ready by presenting the third single, “Dark Night Of The Soul”, off their upcoming debut album, along with an official full band playthrough video. Be ready for the reopen the Portals of Hell.

The new single delivers a bold message of pure hardness, perilous atmosphere and underlines the heightened level of potency and experience from their successful past and current projects, enhancing influences from both classic and modern death metal genres.

CRYPTA’s debut album went out last 11 of June – descending upon the earth like an apocalyptic meteor! "Echoes of the Soul" was recorded in January 2021 at the "Family Mob Studio" in Brasil, mixed by Arthur Rizk (Code Orange, Powertrip etc.) and mastered by the famed Jens Bogren (Opeth, Dimmu Borgir, Sepultura etc.). The cover artwork was created by Wes Benscoter, who is internationally famous for his stunning covers for bands such as Slayer, Kreator, Black Sabbath and many more.

nómadas mgmeia

Atmospherically dark and threatening, the 55-second intro “Awakening” prepares the listener for the oncoming ferocity of "Echoes Of The Soul", fiery fuel into the death metal machine. Their significant sonic texture derived from various death metal subgenres and traces of classic thrash becomes instantly evident as the album begins, reflective of the entirely vicious, infernal aura the 10-track debut is about to unleash. CRYPTA unbridle high-powered sonic demons and nourish cumulative, explosive energy with raging guitar riffs, Fernanda Lira’s unmistakable vocal colour and Damettos's menacing drums. Tracks like “Starvation”, “Kali” and “Blood Stained Heritage” incite an uncontrollable storm of pure rage and belligerence, while offerings like “Under The Black Wings” and “Dark Night Of The Soul” deliver a message of pure hardness in perilous atmosphere. “Death Arcana” provides its listener further insight into CRYPTA’s sonic mastery and captivates with sprawling solos reminiscent of earlier times, yet spiced with a modern twist.

Crypta MGMEIA Cover Artwork by Wes Benscoter
Cover Artwork by Wes Benscoter

Echoes Of The Soul tracklisting:

1. Awakening

2. Starvation

3. Possessed

4. Death Arcana

5. Shadow Within

6. Under the Black Wings

7. Kali

8. Blood Stained Heritage

9. Dark Night of the Soul

10. From the Ashes

27 views0 comments