top of page

Melodic Death Metal five-piece Defacing God signs worldwide contract with Napalm Records

Defacing God mgmeia [photo credit: Nikolaj Bransholm/Bransholm Photography]
[photo credit: Nikolaj Bransholm/Bransholm Photography]

Defacing God the Scandinavians of Melodic Death Metal are back with their latest work "The Resurrection Of Lilith" which will be released to the market on 2nd of September, 2022 on the Napalm Records label. With the characteristic somberness of the band, the album marks a multifaceted escape between raw Death Metal and symphonic gradiosity, showing Defacing God's ambition to win more fans around the world. Not escaping its concept the band dresses itself in Danish legends, rooted in occultism and witchcraft, but mainly in the mysterious female mythology Lilith and her tales of fervent defiance and perseverance.

The second single from The Resurrection of Lilith, titled "The End of Time", is out now - and a direct hit to the skull! Starting with a wall of blowing beats and rapid guitar rhythms of muffled clapping, this banger takes you straight into insanity, sadness and pain. "The End Of Times" is a perfect example of extreme melodies paired with haunting orchestral elements, echoing the styles of artists like Cradle of Filth and Dimmu Borgir.

DEFACING GOD on “The End Of Times”:

“The term ‘End Of times’ relates to the era that precedes the termination of life on earth, with different man-made religions interpreting the events and time of its occurrence. The end of times marks the moment of divine retribution where the world will receive its grand judgement, widely referred as the Apocalypse. In our attempt on creating the sound and the visuals of the Apocalypse, the world is seen through the eyes of Lilith. The lyrics say, ‘This is the end of times; the cosmic energy has brought. Omniscience balance, the ascension has begun’.

We can ́t control the power of nature and cosmic events as we are simple mortal beings. Not only are we threatened by the force of nature beyond our control, but we are also threatened by our own flesh and blood. The urge of materialism, authority, power, status, and money, which can all lead to wars, oppression, pain, and sorrow. The song refers to the spiritual aspects and realities that are supposed to be hidden behind humanity’s material world and the evil of the spiritual world, but in fact it alludes to the man-made horrors of war, greed, oppression, mass consumption, the lack of integrity, and our self-made road to destruction which will eventually lead to the end of humanity. If we were to be asked, ‘What would the Apocalypse sound like?’, then this is it. As the lyrics also state, ‘Passengers on the death train, welcome everybody – time to climb onboard!’”

Conjugating the narratives of a dark universe of obscure myths, folklore and ancient stories with subtle lyrical inspirations of modern oppressions and personal demons the band pulls its followers into a unique experience. Balancing massive melodies with an orchestrated touch by Lars Vinther, making it sound like the style of Cradle Of filth, Carach Angren and Dimnu Borgir.

But instead of mixing it with a conventional dose of black metal, the band proudly fuses these auras with hellish death metal. Furthermore, The Resurrection Of Lilith was produced by Jacob Hansen - known for his work with Fleshgod Apocalypse, Volbeat, Evergrey, Epica and countless others.


“A lot of mixed emotions and passion has been held over and inside this album and to support those emotions our sound is both eerie and dramatic, filled with symphonic details to set the mood and atmosphere. We have created a lot of details so that the listener is challenged, which is why it is important to mention that we chose to work with Lars Vinther on the tracks.

Lars did the orchestration parts and he is that ´´extra´´ we needed to complete our sound with the classical components and to make our sound more grandiose and dramatic. The use of classical instruments/symphonics is something that is more seen in the modern black metal genre (Cradle, Dimmu Borgir etc.) But we play melodic death metal and because of our love for classical music and our dark and massive sound, we thought it would be interesting to experiment with the orchestrations and more layers in our music.

Melodic death metal has been made a million times before, but I think we managed to make this piece very personal with all the experimenting."

With a spectacular, cinematic intro, "The Resurrection Of Lilith", leads the listener into the demonic world of Defacing God. The melodic, orchestral Death Metal assault on "The Invocation Part I 'Lilith'", the track that appears as the first of three songs introducing the female forces of legend obeys three acts - the first being Lilith, Adam's first wife, who refused to obey and now reigns as a symbol of female anger and independence, but also for the darkness that lies within oneself. The Invocation Part II "Jezebel" and "The Invocation Part III "Abyzou"" - leading up to "The Rise of the Trinity". The rest of "The Resurrection Of Lilith" proves to be an aural onslaught of epic proportions, seeing Defacing God unleash their supreme power and full songwriting dynamic with varying but relentlessly hard-hitting tracks like "The End Of Times", "Echoes From Fulda", "Death Followed Like a Plague" and "Enslaved". Penultimate track "In the Land of Rain and Sorrow" explodes with a dark and dense wall of sound before the album closes with encapsulated and symphonic "Into the Mist of Memories" - featuring a neo-classical inspired guitar solo.

The Resurrection Of Lilith Track Listing:

1. Black Moon

2. The Invocation Part I "Lilith"

3. The Resurrection

4. The Invocation Part II "Jezebel"

5. The Invocation Part III "Abyzou"

6. Rise Of The Trinity

7. The End Of Times

8. Echoes From Fulda

9. Death Followed Like A Plague

10. Enslaved

11. In the Land Of Rain And Sorrow

12. Into the Mist Of Memories

32 views0 comments